Album Review of
Eight Track III

Written by Joe Ross
June 10, 2019 - 6:11pm EDT
Review Rating Star Review Rating Star Review Rating Star Review Rating Star Review Rating Star

Jazz guitarist extraordinaire Dave Stryker has found players who are tuned in perfectly to his eclectic musical vision. They include Stefon Harris (vibes), Jerod Gold (organ), McClenty Hunter (drums) and Mayra Casales (congas and percussion). As with Eight Track and Eight Track II released in 2013 and 2016, respectively, Stryker pays tribute to a time decades ago when we were youthful, adventurous and exploratory. And cars were outfitted with tape players! Daring and bold, this quintet gives us fun, audacious and satisfying music. Thrill-seekers will enjoy Stryker’s take on these classics. How you go wrong with new jazzy arrangements of hits like Curtis Mayfield's “Move on Up,” The Temptations' “Papa was a Rollin' Stone,” and The Carpenters' “We've Only Just Begun”? It’s hard to compare these arrangements with the original releases. There are no vocals on Stryker’s Eight Track III, but there’s plenty of delight, surprise, confidence, and mighty fine instrumental expression. Other recommended tracks are Steely Dan's “Pretzel Logic,” Stevie Wonder’s “Too High” and Roy Ayer's “Everybody Loves the Sunshine.” This project makes me want to dig out some of my old tapes, as well as Stryker’s initial releases in this now-complete trilogy.  (Joe Ross, Roots Music Report)